A Very, Very, Overdue Tag… The Bookworm’s Tag!

(Thank you for your patience, Gilmo!)

RULES

  1. Thank and link to the blogger who nominated you. THANK YOU, GILMO, I’M SO SORRY!! (See above for the lovely lady in question’s blog!)
  2. Include the tag graphic in your post (Check!)
  3. Answer the ten questions the blogger asked (Check!)
  4. Nominate between five and ten bloggers (…I’ll do my best?)
  5. Ask your nominees ten book-related questions! (Check!)
  6. Don’t feel bound to these rules (Check!)
  7. (Most importantly) Have fun! (CHECK!)

So here we go! 😀

  1. What is one character that you understand and empathize with more than others?
    Hester Kimball from Nickel-Plated Beauty. She’s a big sister who feels very responsible for holding things together, loves her family, works hard, and has a impish, girly side (shown by her attempted matchmaking of people… I just mess with my characters.)
  2. Do you like endings that are left up to you or given to you?
    I definitely like closure, nine times out of ten. But there are exceptions: The Lady and the Tiger, for example, was one of the first endings I read that I had to fill in for myself. (A literature assignment, actually…) A couple mystery elements are fine, but on the whole I prefer a neat ending.
  3. Chronicles of Narnia or Lord of The Rings?
    Why do you make me do this, AAAUGH?! 🤣
    Probably Chronicles of Narnia for one simple reason: I can pronounce things better. Without that, I’d have to say the choice is too hard.
  4. What genre is your favourite to write, what is your favourite to read?
    Fantasy both ways; though historical fiction is rapidly becoming a close second in the reading department. Middle-grade tends to be my favorite to read, on the whole… but not exclusively.
  5. Music when you read/write or no?
    When writing, absolutely!! Music is good for the soul, gets the creative juices flowing, and helps block other, more distracting, noises. 😉 Reading, I tend to get into the flow better without music…
  6. Pencil and paper or computer?
    Sadly, I’ve moved more to computer. I used to paper-and-pen-or-pencil all the time, but then I had to transfer for smoother editing, and in the end, it was just easier to draft with keyboard.
  7. What is your greatest struggle when writing?
    Keeping the flowery prose to a minimum. I like to go on and on about feelings and scenery but I’ve had to trim down and be limited but more precise with my verbs and descriptions.
  8. What is a book you like to re-read over and over (If there is one)?
    There’s a lot, actually! But Beauty, by Robin McKinley is one of my top 5. If I were stranded on an island and had 3 books, that’d be one of them.
  9. Do you prefer reading at home, in the library, or outside?
    At home… I always end up reading outside when it’s windy, for some reason. 😆
    Sadly, I’ve never actually read in a library, I think..? I just haul around stacks of books to take home.
  10. And finally! Would you like to be nominated for a book tag again if I ever join one?
    Please! Forgive me for taking so long on this one… 😥

And now, for my questions:

  1. Do you like to share snippets-in-progress, or wait for larger chunks (even whole drafts!) before you share?
  2. What’s a great series that you would recommend?
  3. Music when you write, or no?
  4. Do you like graphic novels? If so, do you count them as “true books” or something other?
  5. Pencil or paper, or computer?
  6. Do you have a favorite writing spot? Where?
  7. Paper-and-ink, or digital books (to read)?
  8. What sort of covers do you think look cool? Do you have any examples? (Even if you haven’t read the books— it’s a style question.) 😉
  9. Favorite genre to write/read?
  10. Do you like short story anthologies?

And I’ll tag:

Joelle at Sword of the Penmaiden
Lillian at The Introspective Introvert
and Kayti, Rissy, and Jaidie over at Sisters Three! (That makes six, right? Also, sorry if you were tagged for this already or you’re skipping tags for now. It’s hard to keep track… al;dkj;dl)

This week, some minor editing, 1600 words in drafting, and some work on a plotline for The Writer Games: Trials! (Just not any of my current projects.)

3 thoughts on “A Very, Very, Overdue Tag… The Bookworm’s Tag!

  1. Reading outside when it’s windy. (Thankfully, it has not happened to me in a while.) Oh, I get so annoyed when I am trying to write, and the pages just flutter back and forth.
    Or when the sun shines so bright, it reflects off the page, and you are unable to see the words without hurting your eyes. But I do love reading/writing outside.

    No music when I read or write because it’s a whole other level of concentration, and I think it’s also because I 100% love it and don’t need any distractions.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh… I forgot about the sun issue, as well (we have a big tree that takes us about 70% of the yard, thankfully avoiding that issue approximately 70% of the time… XD

      And that’s true! Sometimes, you can have too much of a good thing just by putting two (or three!) of them together.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment